OpenAI is deprecating Agent Builder and plans to shut it down on November 30, 2026; its migration path is the Agents SDK (code) or ChatGPT Workspace Agents, and ChatKit stays available. If you’re a developer, exporting your workflow to the Agents SDK keeps you on OpenAI. If you want to stay on a visual, no-code canvas, MultiverseAI lets you rebuild agents and multi-step workflows without code — and use Anthropic, Google and other models alongside OpenAI’s.
OpenAI Agent Builder facts are quoted from OpenAI Agent Builder's own site, linked in each row. Prices and plans change — check the source before you buy.
| Feature | MultiverseAI | OpenAI Agent Builder |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A no-code AI agent and agentic workflow builder with multi-model chat, a public API and an MCP server. | “A visual canvas for building multi-step agent workflows” — deprecated and scheduled to shut down on November 30, 2026.source |
| What you pay for | Credits for AI usage, at provider cost plus 50% (1 credit = $0.01). Workflow steps that call no model are not metered. | OpenAI API usage for the models and tools a workflow calls; the pricing page lists no separate Agent Builder fee.source |
| Free plan | Yes — 100 free credits on every account. | Not stated; no Agent Builder plan appears on the API pricing page.source |
| Entry paid plan | Pro: $29/mo, or $24/mo billed yearly, with 2,500 credits. Credit packs from $10 for 1,000 credits that never expire. | No plan — pay-as-you-go API rates. ChatKit file storage is $0.10/GB-day after 1 GB free.source |
| Self-hosting | No. Cloud only, plus a native Mac app. | No, but you can download a workflow as Agents SDK code and run it yourself.source |
| AI agents | Custom agents with 97 tools, memory, approvals and scheduled tasks; agents can be steps in workflows. | Node-based agent workflows with preview runs and trace graders; deploy with ChatKit or exported SDK code.source |
| Bring your own AI key | Yes — bring your own provider keys, or run on platform credits. | Not stated in the Agent Builder guide. |
| Integrations | 56, each acting through an account you connect. | Not stated in the guide; OpenAI’s agent docs point to function calling, MCP and hosted tools.source |
Yes. OpenAI notified developers on June 3, 2026 that Agent Builder is deprecated, and it is scheduled to shut down on November 30, 2026. ChatKit remains available.
OpenAI’s deprecation notice points to a migration guide for continuing with the Agents SDK or ChatGPT Workspace Agents. Agent Builder can also export a workflow as Agents SDK code.
Yes, by hand or with help: there’s no importer, but you can describe what a workflow does and have MultiverseAI draft an equivalent, then edit it. You can keep using OpenAI models, including with your own API key.
Every account starts with 100 free credits. Build an agent or a workflow and judge it on your own work.